Your total bill is calculated based on:
- The number of Active people in your account
- The number of emails you send
- The number of SMS subscribers in your account (if applicable)
- The number of SMS message segments you send (if applicable)
At the end of your 14-day free trial, your plan type is based on the highest number of Active people in your account during your free trial period.
See the cost of your plan type on our Pricing page.
Your billing cycle closes on the same day each month as your first payment. You will be billed for the previous month’s usage.
SMS is currently unavailable to new users. To be notified when it's available, please reach out to our support team.
High Watermark System
Our billing works on a high watermark system, which means that you are charged based on the previous month’s usage (highest number of active people and email sends), and not for usage at the time of billing.
Think of your Drip subscription as a large bucket and each person as a cup of water. Every time a new person (cup of water) is added to the bucket, a line is drawn on the side of the bucket to indicate the current level of water. If the bucket has 20 cups of water in it and five are removed, though there are only 15 cups of water in the bucket, the line indicating that 20 cups of water were in there still exists. The highest line drawn during the billing period dictates what plan level the account is charged under at the end of the billing period.
Your pricing plan is based on the highest tier which your account reached in usage for the previous month for email (active people and email sends), and for SMS (SMS subscribers and SMS segment sends) if applicable. Your account auto-upgrades to the most cost-effective tier based on your usage for your next billing cycle.
Although each invoice is for your next month of service, the cost is based on your previous month’s usage. For example, the cost of the invoice above on August 25th for Service from August 25th to September 25th is based on the usage from July 25th to August 25th.
For High Volume plans, there is a monthly email send limit. If that limit is exceeded, your subscription will auto-upgrade to the next most cost-effective plan type in order to fit your sending needs for that current billing period. You will receive an email if your account is automatically upgraded and you can select how frequently you’d like to receive updates about your bill under Settings > Billing > Billing Info.
If you have any questions about your bill, drop us a line at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you delete people from your email list or move people from Active to Inactive during your current billing period to place your subscription on a lower plan type, you are still billed for the highest number of people you had during that billing period. After the current billing period is complete, your subscription will be downgraded automatically for the upcoming billing period (next month’s bill).
If you have multiple accounts under your subscription you are charged for the Total People count of all accounts.
Run regular pruning operations to help you keep your monthly bill from increasing. If you have Support All People enabled, you will need to deactivate people in the pruning operation to remove them from your active list.