This article will give you a better understanding of what happens when you pause a campaign or stop a workflow containing active subscribers.
In this article:
Because Campaigns automatically deliver emails at specific intervals of time, you might be wondering what will happen if you suddenly have to switch a campaign from Active to Paused.
First, if you need to pause one of your campaigns, simply switch it from Active to Paused.
Once an already active campaign is Paused, no further emails will get sent until the campaign is reactivated.
Note: Once a campaign is switched back to Active from Paused, please allow up to 5 hours for the campaign to resume its normal delivery schedule.
If you simply need to remove a single email from being sent in the campaign but don’t necessarily want to delete the email, you can switch individual campaign emails from Published to Draft.
Pausing Campaigns in Workflows
If your campaigns are sent via steps in your workflows, pausing the campaign will simply prevent any further emails from getting sent until it is reactivated. As every workflow is different, it is hard to say whether abruptly pausing a campaign will have any effect on further steps in the workflow.
Note: Best practice for pausing campaigns in workflows is to review every campaign on a case-by-case basis. Check for decisions or goals in the workflow that could be impacted by pausing each campaign.
If you have a need to halt one of your workflows, simply stop the workflow from accepting new subscribers by clicking the Stop Workflow button.
When an active workflow with subscribers is abruptly stopped, no new subscribers will be able to enter the workflow until it is resumed by clicking the Start button. However, subscribers that were already active in the workflow before it was stopped will remain active in the workflow. This means that those subscribers can still receive campaign emails and trigger goals.
Pausing a campaign is not best practice if you want to completely remove subscribers from a particular campaign. Yes, it will prevent any further emails from getting sent, but if you reactivate it in the future, those subscribers will still be subscribed to the campaign and pick up right where they left off when the campaign was originally paused. If you need to completely remove subscribers from a campaign, you should run a bulk operation with the Remove from a campaign action for the segment of subscribers you wish to remove.