There are three different status types that your subscribers might hold:
By default, your list will be set to show active subscribers only. However, you might have a need to view those subscribers that have either been unsubscribed or removed.
View subscriber status types
Navigate to the Subscribers tab > List and choose the subscriber configuration you would like to view.
Active subscribers are able to receive any email you send them, from campaigns, broadcasts, to one-off emails.
How do subscribers become active subscribers?
- they opt-in via drip forms
- you import email addresses via CSV file
- they enter your Drip account via 3rd party integrations/API
A subscriber loses active status when they unsubscribe from all mailings, not if they unsubscribe from a campaign only.
Unsubscribed subscribers will be unsubscribed from all mailings sent from your Drip account. They will be removed from any workflows and campaigns they might currently be active in, and will not be able to trigger any other workflows.
Once a subscriber has been unsubscribed, you cannot reactivate the subscriber unless the subscriber opts in through an opt-in form, or reactivates their subscriptions via their subscriptions page.
Your account will not be charged for unsubscribed subscribers.
Unsubscribed subscribers can be identified by a red icon:
Only subscribers that have been unsubscribed from all mailings will display the red icon.
An event will also get recorded to the subscriber timeline:
If needed, you can manually unsubscribe a single subscriber from all mailings, or from individual campaigns and workflows.
To do this, navigate to the subscriber whose subscription status you will be updating.
Then, select whether you would like to remove them from all mailings by clicking the Unsubscribe from all mailings button, or just from individual campaigns by clicking the Remove button:
Use bulk operations if you need to manually remove larger segments of subscribers from campaigns or workflows.
How subscribers become unsubscribed
It is not uncommon for some subscribers to unsubscribe themselves from receiving further mailings from you or your company. Your subscribers can unsubscribe themselves by clicking the unsubscribe URL in the email footer.
However, when subscribed to an email campaign, the subscriber can be given the option to unsubscribe themselves from individual email campaigns.
If the subscriber unsubscribes themselves from an individual campaign—and not all mailings, they will remain an active subscriber and retain their green icon.
You must manage the unsubscribe link behavior to give the subscriber those options.
There are two ways that a subscriber can become undeliverable:
- If an email is returned as a hard bounce.
- When the subscriber issues a spam complaint.
Drip will remove any email address from your active subscriber list if that email address is returned as a hard bounce or when a subscriber issues a spam complaint. At this point, Drip will not make any further attempts at sending to email addresses that have been removed.
Your account will not be charged for removed subscribers.
Check out this doc to learn more about hard bounced emails.
Undeliverable subscribers can be identified by a yellow-orange icon: